Skip to main content

The Archival Collection at the University of Hawaiʻi School of Law Library: Home

A portal to the archival collections being preserved at the University of Hawaiʻi School of Law Library.

Welcome!

Our Mission

The University of Hawaiʻi School of Law Library Archive mission is twofold:  to preserve and make accessible records of enduring value regarding the history of the W.S. Richardson School of Law and to preserve and make accessible historically significant material regarding the local and regional legal community.

Our Collections

The Archive holds three major collections: the Law School History Collection, Law School Faculty Publications Archive,Samuel P. King Collection, and the Jon Van Dyke Archival Collection. The Archive has also made available smaller collections such as the H-3 Litigation Archive, the Pacific Islands Committee Archive, the Hawaiʻi 1978 Con Con News clippings, Myer C. Symonds Collection, and Richard Kanter Collection. These unique collections provide material significant to the legal history of Hawaii and the Pacific.

​​Our repository does not necessarily hold the copyrights, privacy permissions or releases, or publicity rights to all the items in our collections.  It is the researchers' obligation to determine the copyright status and holders, meet all holder requirements and honor restrictions.

News & Updates

Patrons are now welcome to research the finding aids and collections of the Samuel P. King, Law School History, and Faculty Publications! Just read our Access Policy and contact the Archives Manager today!

Donate to our Archive

We accept historical material that is within the scope of our mission. If you are interested in donating your materials, please contact the Library Director at vjs777[at]hawaii.edu or 956-5580.

Access Policy

The Archives at the University of Hawaiʻi School of Law are a non-circulating, closed collection housed in the Library’s climate controlled storage space. Patrons may begin their research by browsing our online finding aids and indexes.  Physical access to the collections are possible under the following conditions:

Step 1: Prepare a Research Appointment

  • Identify which collection, series and/or folder you want to research by clicking on the tabs above. 
  • Register with the Library by completing a Researchers Registration Form which can be given to you in print form at the circulation desk, or can be filled out online.
  • Items can be viewed when the Archives Manager, or another qualified staff member, is on duty. .
  • If the Archives Manager is not available, set up an appointment by emailing ellenrae[at]hawaii[dot]edu or calling 808-956-2867. 

Step 2: When You Come In

  • Please prepare to submit a form of collateral (ID, credit card, etc.) to begin researching in the archives. It will be returned once your appointment is completed.
  • Please help us protect the longevity of our collections: No food, beverages, or gum chewing is allowed during the use of the archival material.
  • Follow the staff to the designated Archives research space to begin researching the collections. 
  • No back packs, bags, purses, pens, highlighters or ink-based writing instruments are allowed in the Archives research space. The Archives Manager can provide you a pencil and paper upon request.
  • After submitting your researcher's registration form, the Archives Manager may interview you about your research question to help identify which items in the archive could be useful to you.  Please review the Collection Finding Aid and index to tell the Archives Manager which items you want to look at.  
  • The Archives Manager will bring out the items. You can only view 1 item at a time. 
  • Archival records must be kept in the same order in which they are found.
  • Archival records must not be altered in any way.
  • All material must be returned to the Archives Manager when the research is done.
  • Staff can assist with scanning or copying archival material.​

 

Gallery

Intensive Storage

A peek into our climate controlled location where we keep our archival collections for long term preservation..

Archives Display

An exhibit of our archival collections specializing in legal histories of Hawai'i and the Pacific region.

House Journal

We also maintain rare books on law and legal history.

Hawaiian Dictionary

Rare books such as this Hawaiian Dictionary are great resources for Hawaiian legal research.

Evening Library Supervisor & Archives Manager

Ellen Rae Cachola's picture
Ellen Rae Cachola
Contact:
956-2867

Hours of Operation

To access the archives, please contact the Archives Manager at ellenrae[at]hawaii[dot]edu or call 956-2867.

By appointment only: Sunday-Thursday 6pm-8pm

University of Hawaiʻi School of Law Library
2525 Dole St.
Honolulu HI, 96822