Skip to main content

William S. Richardson, An Annotated Bibliography: Manuscript/Archives

A bibliography for researchers of Chief Justice William Shaw Richardson and the William S. Richardson School of Law at the University of Hawaii at Manoa - with aloha.

State Archives

Search the Hawaiʻi State Archives

·         Go to http://archives1.dags.hawaii.gov:8000/cgi-bin/koha/opac-main.pl

·         Search for “Richardson, William”

·         Contact data for the Hawaiʻi State Archives [ http://hawaii.gov/dags/archives/about-us ]

Address:

Hawai‘i State Archives
Kekāuluohi Building
‘Iolani Palace Grounds
364 S. King Street
Honolulu, Hawai‘i 96813

Phone:(808)586-0329

Fax: (808) 586-0330

Email: archives@hawaii.gov

Business Hours:
Monday-Friday
9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Closed Saturday, Sunday, and State Holidays

Supreme Court Law Library, LRB

Search the Hawaiʻi State Law Library (SCLL), Legislative Research Bureau (LRB), Municipal Records and Reference Center (MRC)

o   Go to http://www.state.hi.us/lrb/card/

·         Search for “Richardson, William S” as keywords

UH Archives (Hamilton Library)

Richardson held important positions in the Democratic Party during the time this archive covers.  It is not, as of May 2012, indexed.

Democratic Party Records

Two collections, a large collection of the statewide organization and one from the Oahu County organization, document the party from the late 1950s to the present.

Contact the University Archives prior to visiting.

Email:  archives@hawaii.edu

Address:

University Archives
Hamilton Library
University of Hawaii at Manoa
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822

Phone: (808) 956-6047

Judicial History Center

King Kamehameha V Judicial History Center

The Judicial History Center has six boxes of archival material from C.J. Richardson.  Two of the boxes include newspaper clippings Richardson collected.  One box has his "Birthday List," an extensive calendar of birthdates for people he liked to remember on their birthdays including janitors, judges, etc.


Location:  Ground floor of Ali'iolani Hale, 417 S. King Street, behind the Kamehameha Statue in downtown Honolulu.

Hours:  Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Contact before planning to visit.