LibGuides: Foreign Law Research: Finding Aids for Articles and Journals

Geographic Neutral Indexes and Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for journal articles available on the internet for free as well as journal articles contained in proprietary databases such as Hein Online.
Hein Online Law Journal Library
Hein Online Law Journal Library – Aggregates more than 1,800 law journals, including the International and Non-US Law Journal sub-collection. (Need UH Log on credentials to use) - Hein Online International and Non-US Law Journals (full text) – Aggregates legal periodicals throughout the world. (Need UH Log on credentials to use)
Legal Trac
Legal Trac indexes more than 1400 law journal, legal press and bar association publications. Some material is linked to full text, but primarily this serves as an easy to use index to a vast amount of legal literature from 1980 to the present.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Choose the Law network to limit to legal literature. This is an open access platform where you can find working papers, unpublished legal articles, and recently published legal articles. This is the first place to check for analysis of cutting edge issues.
bePress Digital Commons Network
Open access platform that includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from many disciplines selected for inclusion by librarians and researchers at major research universities. Heavily dominated by legal literature.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Open access platform that aggregates selected research level articles in scientific and other disciplines. This resource contains nearly 10,000 journals and 1.6 million articles from 124 countries.

Country or Region Specific Resources

This resource lists begins with two U.S. centric databases and then lists resources alphabetically according to common country names.

Legal Trac
Provides indexing from 1980 to present for more than 1.7 million articles from more than 1,400 legal periodicals including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Primarily indexes U.S. legal periodicals. (Need UH Log on credentials to use)
Westlaw Classic's Legal Resource Index
Primarily indexes U.S. legal periodicals beginning in 1980 up until present day. Focuses on Legal articles published in U.S. + some articles published in Australia, Canada, New Zealand & U.K. (Need Westlaw user name and password to use.)
China Academic Journals
Index with partial full text. Presents a full spectrum of articles across many disciplines. Select LAW to limit your search accordingly. Coverage begins in 1915. (Need UH Log on credentials to use)
DBPIA: Online Database Service
Index with partial full text. Searchable database of full-text articles in about 700 scholarly journals published in Korea. (Need UH Log on credentials to use)
E-Korean Studies
Index with partial full text. The E-Korean Studies Database is a trial initiative aggregating the major Korean subscription databases at one site under one search engine. (Need UH Log on credentials to use)
Ireland Legal periodicals.org
Open access index of legal periodicals from Ireland focusing on Irish, global, European and EU legal issues.
Index of New Zealand Journals
Open access periodical index to journals published in New Zealand. Multidisciplinary.
Index to South African Periodical (ISAP)
Open access index to South African journals. Multidisciplinary.
Japanese National Diet Library > Articles Search
NDL Search” aims to be an access point to search the databases – including article indexes - from public libraries, archives, museums, institutes of academic research and NDL. Accommodates Chinese, English, Japanese, and Korean. Multidisciplinary.
Porta: Japanese National Diet Library Digital Archive Portal
Porta is a one stop search box to provides comprehensive searching of many digital archives in Japan. Many of these resources provide full-text of articles and books. Multidisciplinary. Must search in Japanese.
Westlaw Classic's Legal Journals Index
Indexes legal articles published in U.K. & English-language articles published in Europe beginning in 1986.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Hein Subscription)
more...less...
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is a unique multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in more than 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions including the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.