LibGuides: Corporate Finance: Industry Research

Basic Information

International Standard Industrial Classification ISIC
Maintained by the U.N. Statistics Division, the ISIC is used in a number of international databases, such as ILO's LABORSTA. Rev.4 is the current version. See link on sidebar at this site to other available classifications.
North American Industry Classification System NAICS
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Standard Industry Classifications SIC
SIC is a four-digit classification system developed in the 1930's for use by the U.S. federal government. Although still commonly used in many business databases, the SIC classification system is no longer being revised.
Goldsheets Weekly
Requires Westlaw Login.
A Thomson-Reuters LPC weekly publication, containing reporting and analysis of market trends in the global syndicated loan and high-yield bond markets, including coverage of pricing, structure, tenor, industry segments and league tables.

Finding Industry Analysis

BizMiner
BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research. Includes Hoover's Company Profiles; OxResearch; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports; and Snapshots providing market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Business Source Complete
Over 3,800 full-text journals, including nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, case studies, country economic reports, conference proceedings, working papers collections, and over 1 million company profiles.
eStatement Studies
eStatement Studies includes two classic RMA publications: Financial Ratios Benchmarks and the Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures. Data derived directly from financial statements. Covers more than 750 industries using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes.
IBISWorld
UH Manoa Library subscription includes the Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, US Specialized Industry Reports, Global Industry Reports, and China Industry Reports. Identifies business operating risks and opportunities within 700 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level. U.S. reports are fully updated three times per year on average.

Comprehensive, astute and easy to digest, IBISWorld's industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld's industry risk rating determines how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Passport
Passport by Euromonitor is a comprehensive market research database providing key business intelligence on markets, consumers and companies, emphasizing consumer-related industries. It is an excellent source for international data, including market forecasts, consumer market sizes, consumer lifestyles, brands, and more.
Value Line Investment Survey
Note: The UHM Library subscription includes the Investment Survey stocks only (no small or mid cap). Some database features may not be available in this academic library version.

The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on 1,700 stocks, representing approximately 95% of the market capitalization of all stocks traded in U.S. markets. Provides multi-year statistical history of key investment factors and forward-looking performance projections for each stock, including Value Line’s proprietary ratings and analyst commentary. Also includes analysis on more than 90 industries.