LibGuides: Legal Service Organizations: Pro Bono Legal Services

Hawaiʻi Legal Service Organizations

Ala Kuola, Hawai‘i Family Law Clinic
Free assistance on filing temporary restraining orders. Walk-ins welcome.
Ph: 545-1880
alakuolahawaii.com
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
Advocacy for First Amendment and Bill of Rights issues.
Ph: 522-5900
acluhi.org/need-legal-help
Business Law Corps (BLC)
Helps new business owners and entrepreneurs of limited means.
Ph: 695-2635
businesslawcorps.org
mcblhawaii.org/legalcounseling/
Domestic Violence Action Center
Legal helpline and advocacy for victims of domestic violence, including restraining orders and divorces for battered spouses.
Ph: 531-3771
domesticviolenceactioncenter.org
Earthjustice
Advocacy for environmental protection issues.
Ph: 599-2436
earthjustice.org/about/offices/mid-pacific
Hawai‘i Appleseed Center for Law and Economic Justice
Impact litigation and systems change.
Ph: 587-7605
hiappleseed.org
Hawai‘i Civil Rights Commission
Enforces state laws prohibiting discrimination in employment, housing, and public accommodations.
Ph: 586-8636 (O‘ahu) (neighbor island numbers available on website)
http://labor.hawaii.gov/hcrc
Hawai‘i Disability Rights Center
Provides programs to help citizens with disabilities.
Ph: 949-2922 ext. 207
info@hawaiidisabilityrights.org
hawaiidisabilityrights.org

Hawaiʻi Legal Service Organizations

Hawai‘i Immigrant Justice Center
Provides legal representation for immigrants.
Ph: 536-8826 or 536-4302
kukuicenter.org/agencies/hawaii-immigrant-justice-center
Hawai‘i Legal Services
Legal informational brochures, videos, and online court forms for family, housing, and other civil legal problems.
lawhelp.org/hi/portal
Hawai‘i Online Pro-Bono
ABA Free Legal Answers is an online legal advice clinic for qualifying users to post civil legal questions at no cost. Volunteer attorneys will respond via online.
https://hawaii.freelegalanswers.org/
Landlord/Tenant Information Center
Provides information to assist homeowners and renters with inquiries regarding the Landlord-Tenant Code.
Ph: 586-2634 (8am-12pm)
cca.hawaii.gov/blog/category/consumerdialinformation/
landlord-tenant-information/
Lawyer Referral and Information Service, Hawai‘i State Bar Association
A referral service that provides three names of attorneys in specialized fields.
Ph: 537-9140
hsba.org/images/hsba/LRIS/LRIS%20Online%20Request.pdf
www.hawaiilawyerreferral.com
Legal Aid Society of Hawai‘i (LASH)
Provides legal representation for low-income clients in areas of housing, welfare, and family law.
Ph: 536-4302
legalaidhawaii.org
Legal Line Hotline
Legal advice by telephone, one hour per week (Wed. nights, 6-7pm). Don’t leave a message, just call back.
Ph: 537-1868
Levin Education Access Project (LEAP)
Advocacy for special needs students.
Ph: 237-5327
leaphawaii.com

Hawaiʻi Legal Service Organizations

Mediation Center of the Pacific
Provides mediation and dispute resolution services that are affordable and accessible.
Ph: 521-6767
mediatehawaii.org
Native Hawaiian Legal Corp (NHLC)
Advocacy for Native Hawaiian land and gathering rights issues.
Ph: 521-2302
nhlchi.org
The Legal Clinic
Provides high-quality immigration legal services, education and advocacy for low-income immigrants.
Ph: 777-7071
https://thelegalclinichawaii.org/contac t-us/
Volunteer Legal Services Hawai‘i (VLSH)
Provides legal representation for low income clients in civil issues.
Ph: 528-7046
vlsh.org

List of Hawaii Legal Service Organizations