Criminal Law: Home

The Attributes of U.S. Federal Judges Database provides systematic information on the personal, social, economic, career and political attributes of judges who served on the US Courts of Appeals over the period 1801-2000 (with partial coverage extended to 2004).

The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) collects, analyzes, publishes and disseminates data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific categories (e.g. equal employment, prison conditions, immigration). Temporal coverage begins in 1960.

The Death Penalty Information Center offers the Executions in the US 1608-2002 dataset which includes the name, age and race of executed individuals as well as the date and method of execution. One may also use its Searchable Execution Database to search 1976-2015 and create a .csv file of the results.

The FBI Criminal Justice Information Services serves as the central repository for criminal justice information services in the FBI. Programs consolidated under the CJIS Division include the National Crime Information Center, Uniform Crime Reporting, and Fingerprint Identification.

The Federal Judges Biographical Database is a component of the Biographical Directory of Federal Judges produced by the Federal Judicial Center as part of its History of the Federal Judiciary. The Biographical Directory of Federal Judges provides information about all judges who have served since 1789 on the U.S. District Courts, Courts of Appeals, Supreme Court, and the former Circuit Courts. The Federal Judges Biographical Database allows users to create customized lists of judges based on multiple categories, including nominating president, type of court, dates of service, and demographic groups.

The Federal Judicial Center hosts the Integrated Database (IDB) containing data back to 1970 on civil case and criminal defendant filings and terminations in the district courts, along with bankruptcy court and appellate court case information.

The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts compiles statistics on the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the U.S. District Courts, and the U.S. Bankruptcy Courts. Statistical publications include the Annual Report of the Director, Bankruptcy Statistics, Judicial Business of the United States Courts, Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics and Federal Court Management Statistics.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) provides comprehensive and detailed information on the federal justice system’s processing of criminal cases. The FJSP provides annual data on workload, activities, and outcomes associated with federal criminal cases.

The U.S. Sentencing Commission collects, analyzes, researches and distributes a broad array of data and statistics on federal crime and sentencing issues in its Interactive Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics.

A project of the Sunlight Foundation, Hall of Justice is a searchable inventory of almost 10,000 publicly available criminal justice datasets and research documents from the states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government.

The Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA) is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to the use of nonpartisan research and analysis to inform criminal and juvenile justice decisionmaking.

Lexis Advance's Verdict and Settlement Analyzer searches verdicts and settlements back to 1990 and may be searched or filtered by jurisdiction, practice areas and topics, case resolution, award amount and injury

Lexis Advance's What’s It Worth? provides summary coverage of personal injury damage awards for various jurisdictions in the U.S. since 1996.

The Lower Federal Confirmation Database contains information on nominations to Article III district and circuit courts from the beginning of 1977 through the end of December 2004.

The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) provides datasets that can help guide the exploration and extension of research ideas for topics connecting technology and criminology.

The Court Statistics Project (CSP), of the National Center for State Courts (NCSC), collects and analyzes data relating to the work of state courts.

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 185,000 criminal justice publications.

The National Institute of Justice (NIJ) is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues.

The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

The State Supreme Court Data Project contains data on decisions in all State Supreme Courts over the period 1995-1998.

The Supreme Court Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2019 terms.

The U.S. Appeals Courts Database provides a dataset of randomly selected cases over the period 1925-2010.

The Westlaw Jury Verdicts, Settlements & Judgments Database directory provides access to a variety of sources for information on selected verdicts and settlements.

Westlaw’s Case Evaluator compiles verdict trends, excerpts from verdicts and court documents, and medical and expert information into a single custom report.

The American Bar Association features articles on breaking legal news, updated throughout the business day.

Bloomberg Law News provides legal and business news through a network of domestic and international reporters and correspondents.

The Crime and Consequences Blog discusses crime and the criminal law.

The Crime Report (TCR) is the nation’s only comprehensive news service covering the diverse challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the U.S. and abroad. Staffed by working journalists in New York, Washington and Los Angeles, it is published daily through the year by the Center on Media, Crime and Justice at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York.

Criminal Legal News, a project of the Human Rights Defense Center (HRDC), is a monthly magazine that provides cutting edge review and analysis of individual rights, court rulings, and news concerning criminal justice-related issues.

Law Professor Blogs, LLC is the nation's only network of legal blogs edited primarily by law professors. Law Professor Blogs, LLC owns and operates over 40 legal blogs, edited by over 100 law professors, deans, and lawyers. Editors include leading scholars and educators who are committed to providing the web source of legal news, information, commentary, and analysis for law professors, practitioners, government and nonprofit lawyers, and students in their respective fields.

JD Supra relies mainly on content provided by large law firms, who reprint their articles for use on this website. The site has a number of subcategories covering most areas of the law.

Jurist is a web-based legal news and real-time legal research service powered by a mostly-volunteer team of over law student reporters, editors and Web developers, in conjunction with the University of Pittsburg. Jurist uses the latest Internet technology to track important legal news stories and materials

Law360 provides legal news and analysis on litigation, policy, and deals

The Legal Intelligencer delivers in-depth analysis and coverage of legal issues including judgments and settlements, breaking news, job opportunities, and legal notices.

LexBlog has over 23,000 bloggers within its network, including over half of the nearly 1,000 blogs from the United States’ top 200 law firms, devoting itself to empowering a global network built around the company’s mission to provide real-time news and insights powered by the legal community.

Reuters Legal brings you the latest legal news and analysis from around the country, including breaking stories, trial coverage and law firm news