Practice Sources
Complete Manual of Criminal Forms by Publication Date: 2020A compilation of all forms used during the pre-trial proceedings, trial, and post-trial situations in federal and state criminal courts. Available through WestLaw.
Criminal Defense Techniques by Publication Date: 2020Provides coverage of criminal law, from pretrial to appeal, to effectively defend your client.
Criminal Discovery: A Pocket Guide for Judges by Publication Date: 2015A pocket guide to help judges manage complex e-discovery in criminal cas- es.
Criminal Law Practice FormsForms maintained by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on behalf of the Federal Judiciary, including summons, search and seizure warrants, bail information, and waivers.
Criminal Practice ManualPublication Date: 2021Criminal Practice Manual is a comprehensive resource that identifies, for the criminal defense attorney, significant developments and the latest trends in the law, from arraignment to sentencing of a case. Available through WestLaw.
Criminal Procedure and the Supreme Court: A Guide to the Major Decisions on Search and Seizure, Privacy, and Individual Rights by Publication Date: 2010Overview the realities and practicalities of police investigation and the functioning of the criminal justice system when search and seizure becomes an issue.Criminal Procedure in Practice by
Call Number: University of Hawaiʻi School of Law Library, Main Collection KF9656 .M29 2001Publication Date: 2001Criminal Procedure in Practice provides practical guidance for attorneys on all the stages of a criminal case, from police investigation immediately following the alleged crime to issues involving the double jeopardy clause.
Federal Grand Jury: A Guide to Law and Practice by Publication Date: 2nd Ed., 2020Federal Grand Jury: A Guide to Law & Practice discusses the principles and functions of a grand jury. It also provides practical guidance on selecting and convening the grand jury, securing evidence, immunity, secrecy, and practical forms.- Video: 10 Steps to Preparing An Opening Statement byAvailable on Youtube.
- Video: How to Create Leading Questions for Cross-Exam byAvailable on Youtube.
- Video: Top 10 Objections in Trial byAvailable on Youtube.
Periodicals
- EbscoHost's Legal CollectionContains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
- HeinOnline's Criminal Justice JournalsThis is a sub collection of the Law Journal Library which contains only titles pertaining to Criminal Justice (85 titles).
- American Criminal Law ReviewThe American Criminal Law Review is a student-edited scholarly journal published at Georgetown University Law Center.
- Criminal Justice Magazine byA quarterly magazine filled with practice-oriented articles, coverage of Criminal Law policy developments, and Section news
Treatises
Aspen Student Treatise for Criminal Law by Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2011A student treatise that explains the basic rules on all core criminal law topics, including the Model Penal Code's position and the most of the common deviations from it.
Constitutional Rights of the Accused by Publication Date: 3rd ed., 1996Electronic version through Westlaw
Courtroom Criminal Evidence by Publication Date: 2020This treatise is geared for the criminal trial attorney and covers the current status of the law of evidence, relying on the common law, Federal Rules of Evidence, federal statutes and exclusionary rules of the U.S. Supreme Court. Available on Lexis.
Criminal Law by Call Number: KF9219 .L38 2010Publication Date: 5th ed., 2010
Criminal Procedure by Call Number: KF9619 .L15 2007Publication Date: 3rd ed., 20076-volume set analyzing the law governing all of the major steps in the criminal justice process, starting with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. Electronic version through Westlaw.Orfield's Criminal Procedure Under the Federal Rules by
Publication Date: 2d ed., 1993Practical application of the law and historical commentary of the law's development. Electronic version through Westlaw.Search and Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment by
Call Number: KF9630 .L26 2012Publication Date: 5th ed., 20126-volume set reporting "in a systematic and orderly fashion the current state of 4th Amendment law and also to present a critical assessment of how the Supreme Court and the lower courts have found in their ongoing and challenging enterprise of giving context and meaning to the 4th Amendment."Substantive Criminal Law by
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2020Straightforward presentation of each element in the most common criminal offenses, including references to the Model Penal Code.
Wharton's Criminal Evidence by Call Number: KF9660 .B47 2001Publication Date: 15th ed., 20018-volume set kept up to date by pocket supplements. It includes all significant decisions of the United States Supreme Court interpreting the Federal Rules of Evidence as well as state court decisions interpreting comparable state provisions. Electronic version through Westlaw.
Wharton's Criminal Law by Publication Date: 15th ed., 1993Describing the common law background of crimes and defenses. Statutes are considered only to the extent that they may have played a part in the decision of cited cases. Electronic version through Westlaw