Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to Treaty Sites
Click on the word "more" for additional information.
United Nations Treaty Collection
Collection includes the Leagues of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.), 1920-1944 and the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), 1944-. The latter collection includes full-text of all bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with the Secretariat. It is the most comprehensive treaty series; includes human rights treaties, but there can be a time lag.
Status of Instruments
Locating the status of an instrument is of primary importance in
international human rights law. The Web has become a primary source for
obtaining up-to-date status information.
What does it mean to check the status of an international instrument or treaty? Checking the status includes:
- determining if the treaty is in force, and when it entered into force
- finding out if a country has ratified a treaty and has become a state party
- locating any reservations or declarations
There are many sources for status information. Consult sources from the body that issued the international instrument (the U.N. committee, the Council of Europe, etc.).
United Nations Charter
Preamble to the Charter affirms the "faith in fundamental human rights, in the dignity and worth of the human person, [and] in the equal rights of men and women and of nations large and small."
Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) (1948) - a foundational human rights text