Scholarly Legal Research: Non-Law Databases

Go to the "All UH Database List" either from the Law Library's Resource Page or directly from this URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/az.php.

Access Google Scholar through this proprietary link or follow the directions below to have Google Scholar show you the links to access articles from proprietary databases.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Setting up Google Scholar to search University of Hawaii resources

• First visit the Google Scholar prefrences page here
• Under the Library Links section type "University of Hawaii"
• Check the box that says University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full-Text @ UH Manoa you may also check University of Hawaii at Hilo - Full-Text @ UH Manoa if you would like to search both campuses resources.
• Select any other preferences that you may have and click save
• Now any search you perform on the main Google Scholar page should give results from UH resources
• To refine your search see the Advanced Scholar Search page

Using Full-Text @ UH Manoa
Certain texts available through Google Scholar will only allow you to view one or two pages of a document and require you to log in to see the entire document. The Full-Text @ UH Manoa feature will allow you to view the entire document by logging in with your UH username and password.

If you click on the Full-Text @ UH Manoa link you will be redirected to the UH Hamilton Library website, click the button that says Login through the UH Web Login Service:

Click the button and then log in with your UH username and password; this will unlock the full document for viewing.

ABI/INFORM Global is the premier business and management database providing extensive coverage of North America and the world. Find research on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. This ProQuest database indexes about 1,520 journals and includes article full-text for more than 780, many with graphics (full-text available to UH campus users only). Includes information on 60,000+ companies. ABI/INFORM Search Help

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Index (with partial Full Text): 1990- This site aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available on the Web since 1990. The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as the public policy research arm of Congress, and works exclusively for Members, their committees and staff. CRS does not provide direct public access to the numerous reports it produces each year, although some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, post a select group of the reports on their Web sites.

The CQ Researcher
Index (with partial Full Text): (1991:Oct. 25)- The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.

Cyber Bullying Searchable Information Center
According to the National Crime Prevention Council, 43% of teens have been the victims of cyber bullying in the past year.
To help parents, educators, and others better understand, prevent, and take action against this growing concern, ebrary is subsidizing a collection of e-books on cyber bullying. Additionally, ebrary employees have uploaded a number of government documents from the Pew Internet & American Life Project, U.S. Department of Justice, and other organizations with DASH! (Data Sharing, Fast) "a do-it-yourself" e-publishing feature of many ebrary products.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Includes publications analyzing and forecasting the economic, political and business environments of almost 200 countries. Current publications include Country Reports, Country Commerce (business and trade regulations), Country Finance (taxation and investment), Premium Country Access for China, Global Forecasting Service.

E-Korean Studies
E-Korean Studies Database is a trial initiative aggregating the major Korean subscription databases at one site under one search engine. Coverage includes arts and humanities, social and physical sciences, medicine, and physical education with various types of content, including monographs, periodicals and newspapers, dissertations and research reports, law, classical literature, dictionaries and encyclopedias and video lectures. Includes English, Chinese, Japanese and Korean interfaces. Use with Internet Explorer.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. Includes Dissertations and Theses at University of Hawaii.

eHRAF
eHRAF (electronic Human Relations Area Files) Ethnography is a cross-cultural database that contains full-text information (e.g., books, journal articles, and dissertations) on world cultures. It includes indexes by ethnic group and topics. The database is useful for all disciplines concerned with cultural and social life.  Guide.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.  ERIC Search Help

EthicShare is a research and collaboration website designed to help you do research, share, collaborate, and participate in the field of ethics. You will find a comprehensive collection of ethics resources including searchable research materials, group discussions, current news articles, and upcoming events.

Medical Databases Research guide from JABSOM.

Native Hawaiian Health Database
The database includes bibliographic references for: audiovisual materials books, book chapters, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, government documents, program descriptions, and reports.

PsycINFO provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles, chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. PsychINFO Search Help

Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Hawaii
Access to fire insurance maps from various areas in Hawaii. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.