Public International Law: When the U.S. May Be or is Not a Party

Indexes – Most useful to find a citation by subject matter or chronological date. These entries give you quick facts about each treaty such as signatories and date entered into force.

Flare Index to Treaties (1856 to present)

Multilateral treaties : index and current status & 11th Supp. (1856 - 1994)

World Treaty Index (1900 – 2000)

Multilateral Treaty Calendar (1648-1995)  - Organized chronologically but has a subject index. The Table of Contents for this book can be found on Google Books (use control+f to search by subject).

In additional to the full text sources above, these web sites organize treaties by subject.

Environment

• ENTRI - Multilateria treaties and national level data for 200+ countries.
• Ecolex - Access to environmental treaties and national implementing legislation.

Human Rights

• University of Minnesota Human Rights Library - Contains treaties and related documents concerning IHR.
• UN Human Rights Treaties
• UN Human Rights Instruments

Humanitarian Law (Peace and War related agreements)

• International Committee of the Red Cross – Includes the Geneva Conventions plus other agreements organized by subtopic, date and state.
• U.S. Institute of Peace - This digital collection collects the full text of agreements ending worldwide conflicts since 1989.

Intellectual Property

• WIPO - Treaties administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization

Trade

• U.S. Trade Agreements Collection - Text of agreements provided by the U.S. Trade Representative
• UNIDROIT - Collects instruments related to private international law with respect to trade.
• UNCITRAL - U.N. commission that coordinates trade agreements with the World Trade Organization.
• CISG - Database of treaty text, instruments and case law interpreting the Convention on the International Sale of Goods.
• WTO Agreements - Collection of trade agreements administered by the WTO

Full Text Resources - See also the box on Treaties by Subject located below on this page.

• United Nations Treaty Collection
• Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (MTDSG)
• The Multilaterals Project at the Fletcher School, Tufts University
• World Legal Information Institute (WLII), International Treaties Library
• United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) (Dec. 1946 – Dec. 2006)
• League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) (July 1920 – Oct. 1944)
• Monthly Statements of Treaties and International Agreements (MS)
• International Legal Materials - A keyword search using the name of the treaty is effective.  Highly selective.

For a more complete listing, see EISIL and WorldLII.

• African Multilateral Organizations, Treaties, Conventions and Declarations
• Canada Treaty Information
• China – Treaties from the Foreign Minister
• Council of Europe Treaty Office (Lists all treaties)
• Europa > Gateway > Treaties
• European Conventions and Agreements 1949-1994 - Documents are arranged chronologically v. 1. 1949-1961.--v. 2. 1962-1970.--v. 3. 1972-1974.--v. 4. 1990-1994.
• Treaties & Conventions of the Hawaiian Kingdom
• Indian Affairs Law and Treaties - Compilation of Native American instruments
• Hong Kong Treaty Index - Indexes treaties applying to the Hong Kong SAR
• Hong Kong Treaty Database - Documents the status of international treaties applicable to Hong Kong before and after 1 July 1997 and until May 1998.
• Organization of American States, Treaties and Agreements - Treaties concluded by the members of the OAS.
• Singapore Free Trade Agreements
• United Kingdom Treaties Online - Coverage from 1824 to present, includes Command Papers.