Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to the Law Library at UH Manoa : Law Related Libraries

A guide to the University of Hawaii Law Library.

Libraries and Repositories for Legal Information

William S. Richardson School of Law Library

Selective government depository library; collection is to support the curriculum and research needs of students and faculty.

Hawaii Supreme Court Law Library

Repository for Hawaiian legal materials; practitioner materials; regulatory history research.

Legislative Reference Bureau

The Legislative Reference Bureau is a nonpartisan legislative service agency, that provides a wide variety of services to legislators, legislative committees, and in some cases, members of the public.

The LRB was originally founded in 1943 when the Territorial Legislature created it as a department of the University of Hawaii. Originally, the Bureau was established to provide research services for the governor, the legislature, and the various departments, institutions, and agencies of the Territory.

In 1972, by Act 171, the Bureau was transferred to the legislative branch of state government. In 1977, by Act 8 of the First Special Session, the functions of the revisor of statutes were incorporated as part of the responsibilities of the Bureau. In 1996, by Act 174, the Public Access Room, established by section 21G-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes, was placed under the jurisdiction of the Bureau.

Hawaii State Archives

Established by statute in 1905, the Archives first opened its doors to the public in 1906.  Hawai‘i State Archives collects, preserves and makes available to the public Hawai‘i government records of permanent value.  These government records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session, and include private collections of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, and library collections specializing in Hawaiian history, culture and Pacific voyages.

King Kamehameha V Judicial History Center

Founded in 1989 to help the public understand Hawai'i's unique legal history and the development of Hawai'i's judicial system, the Center primarily promotes civics and law-related education activities for students, teachers, and the general public. We are located in the beautiful and historic Ali'iolani Hale, home of Hawai'i's Supreme Court since 1874. Part of the Hawai'i State Judiciary, the Center conducts and encourages research, disseminates information, and collects, preserves and displays Hawai'i's legal history. Interpreting over 200 years of dynamic legal history through audio visual presentations, exhibitions, and public programs, the Center serves as a bridge between the Judiciary and the community. Some archival collections from judges.  Call first.

Listing of Libraries in Hawaii

An annotated listing of libraries in Hawaii done by the Hawaii State Library.