Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to the Law Library at UH Manoa : Collections

A guide to the University of Hawaii Law Library.

Search Our Collections

Search our Primo catalog for resources in the Law Library or across all UH System Libraries.

Collections at the Law Library

Hawaiian - This collection is located in the lobby. The books on the low shelves are generally circulating. But the books on high shelves, along the walls, are non-circulating, Hawaiʻi legal reference books that are library use only.

Main - This is located on the 1st mezzanine level, on the ranges at the right side of the library. This collection is generally circulating and can be borrowed by law and non-law patrons.

Reference - This collection of legal reference books is located on the 1st mezzanine level, on the ranges at the left side of the library.  From the front ranges to the back ranges, this collection is generally organized according to primary (U.S. Federal/Congressional) to secondary authorities (Regional and State Reporters). This collection is library use only.

Pacific Island - This collection is located on the 1st mezzanine level, on the front left side of the library. This collection is a mixture of circulating and non-circulating. Manuscript books can be borrowed, but legal reference materials of Pacific Island nations are library use only.

Periodicals - This collection of law related journals is located on the 2nd mezzanine level, on the left, back of the library next to the quiet study carrel area. From front to back, this collection is organized alphabetically by title. This collection is library use only.

Microfilm & Microfiche - We have microfiche and microfilm collections that are discoverable on Primo. Contact the front desk if you have any questions.

Archives - These collections are located in Intensive Storage.  Collections include Faculty Archives, Law School History, Jon Van Dyke Archives, Samuel P. King, H-3 Litigation Archive, Pacific Islands Collection, 1968-1978 Hawaiʻi Con Con Newsclipping Archive, Myer C. Symonds, Betty Vitousek , and Myron H. Bright.  Access by reviewing the online finding aid for a collection, item title, and/or specific folder number and contacting the Archives Manager for print or digital access.

Map of the Hawaii Collection and Lobby

The Hawaiian Collection, Public Computers, Circulation Desk, and Public Seating area are in the lobby area.  Behind the circulation desk are the Reserve items and the study aids. Patrons may eat in this lobby area only. But trash must be discarded in the trash receptacles on the outside lanai.

 

Reshelving (Don't)

Please do not re-shelve library materials you have used but have not checked out.  Materials should be placed on the re-shelving carts.

Returning Library Materials

Return of Library Materials

A book drop is located near the Library main entrance. Library materials borrowed from any UH System library may be returned to the Law Library, except for reserve and audiovisual items which must be returned to the owning library

Map of the Main, Reference, Pacific Islands and Periodical Collections

The Main, Reference, Pacific Islands, Periodicals, Microfilm and Law Student seating area are located on the raised floor area beyond the lobby. No eating or trash is allowed in this area.