International Space Law: Books

The following titles are available in digital or print format.  To find additional material on Space Law, go to the PRIMO discovery platform for UH, and change your advanced search filter from Any to Subject.  Use the word 'space' in the subject field.  To be more specific, add another search line and search using an appropriate search term in the Any field.  For example, Subject: Space and Any: Mining. 

The default is to search the Law collection.  To search across the University, change the radio button on the top from Law to Everything.

• Paul Stephen Dempsey, Space Law.  Westlaw Edge > International Materials > International Treatises > Multinational Treatises.

• Diederiks-Verschoor, I. H. Philepina (Isabella Henrietta Philepina), Kopal, Vladimír., An introduction to space law (2008)
• Lyall, Francis, and Paul B. Larsen. Space Law : a Treatise (2018).
• Whitman Cobb, Wendy N., Privatizing Peace: How Commerce Can Reduce Conflict in Space (2020).
• Steer, Cassandra, and Matthew H. Hersch. War and Peace in Outer Space : Law, Policy, and Ethics (2021).
• Zannoni, Diego. Disaster Management and International Space Law (2019).
• Gangale, Thomas. How High the Sky? : the Definition and Delimitation of Outer Space and Territorial Airspace in International Law,  (2018).
• Stubbe, Peter. State Accountability for Space Debris : a Legal Study of Responsibility for Polluting the Space Environment and Liability for Damage Caused by Space Debris (2018).  
• Jakhu, Ram S., and Paul Stephen Dempsey, Handbook of Space Law (2017).
• Dunk, Frans G. von der, and Fabio Tronchetti, Handbook of Space Law (2017). (Print only. Main Collection KZD1145 .H36 2017.)
• Leepuengtham, Tosaporn, The Protection of Intellectual Property Rights in Outer Space Activities (2017). (Print only. Main Collection KZD1145 .L44 2017).
• Zannoni, Diego, Disaster Management and international Space Law (2019).

Cologne Commentary on Space Law, Hobe, Stephan, Schmidt-Tedd, Bernhard, Schrogl, Kai-Uwe,Goh, Gérardine Meishan, eds. (2009-2015). (Print only. Main Collection KZD1145 .C65 2009.)  This multi-volume set provides a synopsis of intent behind each outer space treaty article and provides bibliographic references for further reading.

Cheng, Bin, Studies in International Space Law (1997).

Cheng, Bin. General Principles of Law as Applied by International Courts and Tribunals (2006) (Print only. Main Collection KZ3225.C47 A33 2006)

The following large collections include many journals and books aimed at Space Law and International Law.

Hein Online, Select  > McGill Institute of Air and Space Law Publications.  Holds the Annals of Air and Space Law and earlier publications of this Institute (1976 - 2019).

Hein Online, Select > Foreign and International Law Resources (Not specific to space law.  Conduct your search queries accordingly.)

Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law > Select Subject:  Air Law and the Law of Outer Space  (Contains essays on specific topics related to the field of Outer Space.)

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law > Select Subject: Air Law and the Law of Outer Space (Contains important treaties such as Bin Cheng, Studies in International Space Law.)