LibGuides: Corporate Finance: Company Information & SEC Filings

Quick Links

EDGAR
Coverage: 1994 - present, U.S. and international.
The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free access to corporate filings, including registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q, as well as recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K.
SEC.gov Forms
Defines SEC filings.

Mergers & Acquisitions
Requires Westlaw Login.
Merger & Acquisition Transactions includes mergers, acquisitions, stake purchases, asset sales and divestitures, rumored and seeking buyer transactions, leveraged buyouts, tender offers, privatizations, spin-offs, repurchases, self-tenders, debt restructurings and bankruptcy liquidations. This collection of Merger & Acquisition abstracts offers users the ability to search for merger and acquisition transactions by target, acquirer, specific deal terms and/or related parties.
Begins in 1975 for US transactions and in 1977 for non-US transactions.
SEC Comment Letters
Requires Westlaw login.
Letters released by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) including SEC Staff Comment letters an Issuer Response letters. Coverage begins with 1998 or 2002.

Finding Company Information

ABI/Inform
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases.
Combines ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
BNA Corporate Law Resource Center
The Resource Center features authoritative, in-depth, and practice-oriented news, analysis, and practice tools. The Resource Center is organized into five topical and practice areas—Corporate Compliance, Corporate Governance, Corporate Legal Departments, Financial Reporting, and Forms of Business.
Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research. Includes Hoover's Company Profiles; OxResearch; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports; and Snapshots providing market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Business Premium Collection
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases.
ProQuest’s most comprehensive business database combines ABI/INFORM Collection; Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection; Asian & European Business Collection; Business Market Research Collection; Entrepreneurship Database; and J.P. Morgan Research. Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Historical Annual Reports (ProQuest)
Selected U.S. Companies. Available in ABI/INFORM Complete.
Mergent Online
Proprietary Resource (UH Manoa). Note: Only 12 users allowed at one time.

Comprehensive global company database with custom reporting features. 15,000 U.S. public companies. 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations, representing 95% of the non-U.S. global market capitalization. Basic information on approximately 1 million global private companies, including up to four years of full financial information on over 400,000 firms. 20+ years of U.S. and International HSD Equity Pricing.
Nexis Uni
TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER.
Under "Menu" in the top left corner, select "Business." Then, select "Company Dossier."
PrivCo
Data on privately-held companies: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and selected international unlisted companies. Over 850,000 firms, 20,000 investors and 100,000 private market deals. Note: Only 20 users allowed at a time. If you cannot login, try again later.
ReferenceUSA
Includes 49 million U.S. businesses. Search on 27 unique data points, including geography, business type, number of employees, ownership, etc. Additional modules include the U.S. New Businesses (updated weekly) and the U.S. Consumers / Lifestyles (database of over 279 million consumers).

SEC Filings Information

SEC.gov Forms
Defines SEC filings.

10-K Annual Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

a comprehensive analysis of the company
Companies have to submit this lengthy annual filing within 90 days of the end of their fiscal year.
Parts:
- The "business summary" describes the company's operations (including those that are international), business segments, history, real estate, marketing, research and development, competition and employees.
- The management discussion and analysis (MD&A) provides a good explanation of the company's operations and financial outlook.
- Financial statements can include the balance sheet, the income statement and the cash flow statement.
- Other sections discuss the company's management team and legal proceedings.

10-Q General Form for Quarterly Reports under Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

A comprehensive report of a company's performance that must be submitted quarterly by all public companies to the Securities and Exchange Commission In the 10-Q, firms are required to disclose relevant information regarding their financial position. There is no filing after the fourth quarter, because that is when the 10-K is filed.

Parts:

The first part contains condensed financial statements; management discussion and analysis on the financial condition of the entity; disclosures regarding market risk; and internal controls.

The second part contains legal proceedings; unregistered sales of equity securities; the use of proceeds from the sale of unregistered sales of equity; and defaults upon senior securities.

8-K

An 8-K is a report of unscheduled material events or corporate changes at a company that could be of importance to the shareholders or the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Also known as a Form 8-K, the report notifies the public of events reported including acquisition, bankruptcy, resignation of directors or a change in the fiscal year.