Library Catalogs: Voyager, Primo, HathiTrust, Worldcat, Internet Archive
Voyager Catalog
Voyager searches for books, journals, e-books, e-journals, government publications, maps, music scores, films, sound recordings, archival materials, etc, owned by or accessible via the University of Hawaiʻi at Manoa, including those materials owned by or accessible via the UH School of Law Library.
Primo Catalog searches for books, journals, e-books, e-journals, government publications, archival materials, etc, owned by or accessible via the UH School of Law Library.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
WorldCat helps you find books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. This covers all subject areas from 2150 BC to present.. Contact the Law Library to request items from other libraries.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more, and includes over 43,000 resources about immigration.
Treatises, Books, & General Resources About U.S. Immigration Law
Treatises, Books, and General Resources About Immigration Law
Subscription Resources:
- Steel on Immigration Law byPublication Date: 2017 to currentIn-depth analyses of the law and procedures in cases arising under immigration laws. Includes the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, as amended and interpreted to date; Immigration Act of 1990; Technical Corrections Amendments Act of 1994; the Immigration Reform and Control Act (IRCA); and the Immigration Marriage Fraud Amendment Act of 1986. Comprehensive coverage of legislation and changes in the H-1B non-immigrant temporary worker program.
- Immigration Law Service 2d byPublication Date: 2018 to currentImmigration Law Service provides a practical and current approach to today's immigration-related issues. This title fully integrates changes brought about by the abolition of the INS and the shift of that agency's functions to various agencies in the Department of Homeland Security. This looseleaf binder set includes hands-on guidance for tackling virtually any immigration or naturalization situation, as well as the INA, relevant statutes, and agency guidance.
- Immigration Procedures Handbook byPublication Date: 2017-18
- Immigration Law and Defense byPublication Date: 2018 to currentImmigration Law and Defense contains detailed discussion of the acquisition of non-immigrant and immigrant status, grounds for inadmissibility and removal, administrative proceedings and appeals, federal court review, citizenship and naturalization, employer sanctions, and asylum.
- Interpreter Releases: An Information Service on Immigration, Naturalization and Related ProblemsPublication Date: 1987 to current
Immigration Law & Procedure by Call Number: KF4819 .G67 1988Publication Date: 1988 to currentComprehensive and authoritative multi-volume treatise on all aspects of immigration law. Updated periodically.
Also available on Lexis Advance.
- Fragomen on Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law and Practice, 5th edition
Offering in-depth coverage of bedrock immigration legislation, the latest federal standards, and pivotal court decisions, Fragomen on Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law and Practice gives you the legal and procedural knowledge to work more efficiently and effectively with employers, aliens, nonimmigrants, refugees, naturalized citizens, and government officials.
Enhanced by advisory Practice Commentaries, Fragomen on Immigration Fundamentals shows you how to follow all status-change procedures for employment-based immigration, family-sponsored immigration, and diversity immigration; satisfy important legal tests, such as proving business necessity when hiring aliens or qualifying relationships in family-sponsored immigration cases; and protect clients rights, whether helping aliens fight unjust removal, nonimmigrants pursue lawful entry, or employers obtain judicial review for adverse decisions. - Ebook Central
Ebook Central by ProQuest provides online access to more than 100,000 books in over a dozen specialty areas. - eBook Collection
eBook Collection by EBSCOHost lets you search and view the full text of eBooks purchased by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library, as well as those included in the eBook Public Library Collection.
Free Online Resources:
- Immigration Court Practice Manual
The manual is a comprehensive guide that sets forth uniform procedures, recommendations, and requirements for practice before the Immigration Courts. Published by the Office of the Chief Immigration Judge (OCIJ), which is part of the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR).
Immigration Law: A Primer by Publication Date: 2009Also available free online at the Federal Judicial Center's website at https://www.fjc.gov/sites/default/files/2012/ImmLaw09.pdf
- TRAC Immigration
TRAC Immigration provides comprehensive, independent and nonpartisan information about U.S. federal immigration enforcement.
Print Resources:
Fragomen on Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law and Practice by Call Number: KF4819 .F725 2015ISBN: 1402424876Publication Date: 2015 to current
Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool by Call Number: KF4819.3 .K87 (UH Law: Reserve-Library Use Only)ISBN: 1573703710Publication Date: 2014 to currentA leading source on immigration law
Immigration Pleading and Practice Manual by Call Number: KF4819 .I4822ISBN: 9780314877178Publication Date: 2019
Immigration and Migration: In Context by Call Number: JV6035 .I462 2018ISBN: 1410338940Publication Date: 2018Two-volume set.
Expelling the Poor: Atlantic Seaboard States and the Nineteenth-Century Origins of American Immigration Policy by Call Number: JV6483 .H57 2017ISBN: 019061921XPublication Date: 2017
FOIA Requests and Other Background Checks: A Practical Guide to Filing Records Requests in Immigration Cases by Call Number: KF4829 .I46 2017Publication Date: 2017
Immigration, Emigration, and Migration by Call Number: JV6483 .I55429 2017ISBN: 9781479860951Publication Date: 2017
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell by Call Number: NUT KF4819.85 .W45 2017ISBN: 9781683288985Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Justice and Authority in Immigration Law by Call Number: K3275 .G74 2017ISBN: 9781509915446Publication Date: 2017
Becoming Legal: Immigration Law and Mixed Status Families by Call Number: JV6475 .G65 2017ISBN: 9780190276010Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Contesting Immigration Policy in Court: Legal Activism and its Radiating Effects in the United States and France by Call Number: K3275 .K39 2015ISBN: 1107071119Publication Date: 2015
Dreams and Nightmares: Immigration Policy, Youth, and Families by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780520958890Publication Date: 2015
The Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965: Legislating a New America by Call Number: KF4819 .I4713 2015ISBN: 9781107084117Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Immigration Law & the Military: Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard by Call Number: KF4819 .S76 2015ISBN: 1573703737Publication Date: 2015
The Law That Changed the Face of America: The Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965 by Call Number: KF4806.61965 .O73 2015ISBN: 9781442251366Publication Date: 2015-08-27
Living Together, Living Apart: Mixed-Status Families and U.S. Immigration Policy by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780295806143Publication Date: 2015
Making Foreigners: Immigration and Citizenship Law in America, 1600-2000 by Call Number: KF4700 .P39 2015ISBN: 1107030218Publication Date: 2015
Understanding Immigration Law by Call Number: KF4819 .U53 2015ISBN: 9780769881966Publication Date: 2015Available in print and electronically via the Overdrive Digital Library.
How Race Is Made in America: Immigration, Citizenship, and the Historical Power of Racial Scripts by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780520957190Publication Date: 2014
Representing Clients in Immigration Court by Call Number: KF8925.E4 A186ISBN: 1573704040Publication Date: 2013
Immigration, Assimilation, and Border Security by Call Number: JV6483 .S537 2012ISBN: 1605907197Publication Date: 2012
Citizenship, Borders, and Human Needs by Call Number: JV6217 .C58 2011ISBN: 0812242831Publication Date: 2011
Immigration Law and the U. S. - Mexico Border: ¿Sí se puede? by ISBN: 9780816527809Publication Date: 2011-11-01Available free online to UH students via ProQuest.
Immigration Law: A Guide to Laws and Regulations by Call Number: KF4819 .G46 2011ISBN: 9781616320812Publication Date: 2011Also available as an e-book via ProQuest, under the title The Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Compendium of Immigration-Related Laws and Policy Documents
Immigration Practice Pointers: Tips for Handling Complex Cases by Call Number: KF4819.A2 I4267 2011ISBN: 1573702951Publication Date: 2011
Essentials of Immigration Law by Call Number: KF4819 .B67 2009ISBN: 9781573702850Publication Date: 2009
U. S. Immigration Made Easy by Call Number: KF4819.6 .C37 2004ISBN: 9781413321104Publication Date: 2004
Asylum and Refugee Law
Treatises, Books, and General Resources About Asylum and Refugee Law
Subscription Resources:
- The Law of Asylum in the United States byPublication Date: 2018 to currentThe print version is available at the UH Law Library (current to 2002) (KF4836 .A53 1994 Supp. 2002).
- Asylum Case Law Sourcebook byPublication Date: 2017 to currentSummarizes important federal court asylum decisions since 1980
- Immigration Judges and U. S. Asylum Policy byCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9780812290370Publication Date: 2015Available through ProQuest and the UH Manoa e-book catalog.
- Refuge from Inhumanity? War Refugees and International Humanitarian Law byISBN: 9789004261587Publication Date: 2014-07-13
Free Online Resources:
- Affirmative Asylum Procedures Manual (AAPM)
Asylum Division of the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) - Center for Gender & Refugee Studies
The CGRS database contains information on over 16,000 asylum cases from 1996 and after at all levels of adjudication across the United States. The asylum seekers in most of these cases are women, children, or LGBT refugees. Case records may include unpublished Immigration Judge or Board of Immigration Appeals decisions, or may offer a summary of the decision provided by the applicant’s attorney. Given the absence of official reporting on asylum cases at most stages of adjudication, the information the CGRS database contains offers a unique and invaluable source of information.
Print Resources:
Climate Refugees: Beyond the Legal Impasse? by Call Number: K3230.R45 C55 2018ISBN: 1138088811Publication Date: 2018
The Child in International Refugee Law by Call Number: KZ6530 .P63 2017ISBN: 1107175364Publication Date: 2017
The Legal Protection of Refugees With Disabilities: Forgotten and Invisible? by Call Number: K3230.R45 C76 2017ISBN: 1786435438Publication Date: 2017
Nationality and Statelessness in the International Law of Refugee Status by Call Number: K3230.R45 F75 2016ISBN: 178225921XPublication Date: 2016
AILA's Asylum Primer: A Practical Guide to U.S. Asylum Law and Procedure (7th ed.) by Call Number: KF4836 .G47x 2015ISBN: 1573703761Publication Date: 2015
Exploring the Boundaries of Refugee Law: Current Protection Challenges by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9789004265585Publication Date: 2015
The Law of Refugee Status, Second Edition by Call Number: KZ6530 .H38 2014ISBN: 9781107012516Publication Date: 2014-07-03
Lives in the Balance: Asylum Adjudication by the Department of Homeland Security by Call Number: KF4836 .S36 2014ISBN: 9780814708767Publication Date: 2014-01-03
Protecting Civilians in Refugee Camps: Unable and Unwilling States, UNHCR and International Responsibility by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9789004256989Publication Date: 2014
Armed Conflict and Displacement: The Protection of Refugees and Displaced Persons Under International Humanitarian Law by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2012Also available via ProQuest.
Fragmented State Power and Forced Migration: A Study on Non-State Actors in Refugee Law by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2012
Criminal Law & Immigration
Treatises, Books, and General Resources About Criminal Law and Immigration
Subscription Resources:
- Immigration Law and Crimes by Publication Date: 2017 to currentWritten for both immigration and criminal law practitioners, provides complete coverage of relevant laws, emerging issues, practical guidance, and tactical considerations. Covers categories of criminal convictions having immigration consequences (crimes of moral turpitude, drug-trafficking, aggravated felonies); procedure, strategies, and issues involved in the representation of the noncitizen; analysis of all aspects of conviction or other formal contact with the criminal justice system; postconviction remedies; implications of criminal convictions for legalization, asylum, voluntary departure, and naturalization; sample pleadings and forms.
- Punishing Immigrants: Policy, Politics, and Injustice by Publication Date: 2012 to current
Print Resources:
Cultural Issues in Criminal Defense by Call Number: KF9646 .C85 2015ISBN: 9781578234400Publication Date: 2015-01-01Coverage includes: CHAPTER 1 - Interviewing of Immigrant Clients and Special Immigration Relief for Crime Victims; CHAPTER 6 - Immigration Consequences of Criminal Convictions; CHAPTER 8 - Immigration and Racial Profiling
Social Control and Justice: Crimmigration in the Age of Fear by Call Number: HV6181 .S63 2013ISBN: 9490947784Publication Date: 2013
Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity: A Guide to Representing Foreign-Born Defendants by Call Number: KF4842 .K73 2012Publication Date: 2012
Tooby's Guide to Criminal Immigration Law by ISBN: 1932437096Publication Date: 2008-01-01Summary of the main points covered in N. Tooby & J. Rollin, Criminal Defense of Immigrants (4th ed. 2007)
Deportation and Removal
Treatises, Books, and General Resources About Deportation and Removal
Print Resources:
After Deportation: Ethnographic Perspectives by Call Number: JV6217.5 .A38 2018ISBN: 3319572660Publication Date: 2018
Against the Deportation Terror: Organizing for Immigrant Rights in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781439915356Publication Date: 2018
Boats, Borders, and Bases: Race, the Cold War, and the Rise of Migration Detention in the United States by Call Number: KF4800 .L69 2018ISBN: 0520287967Publication Date: 2018
Deportation: The Origins of U.S. Policy by Call Number: JV6483 .H46 2017ISBN: 081224916XPublication Date: 2017
Hardship in Immigration Law: How to Prepare Winning Applications for Hardship Waivers and Cancellation of Removal, 14th edition by Call Number: KF4819.3 .P74 2017ISBN: 9973294690401701Publication Date: 2017
Immigration Policy in the Age of Punishment: Detention, Deportation, and Border Control by Call Number: K3275 .I485 2017ISBN: 0231179367Publication Date: 2017
The Waivers Book: Advanced Issues in Immigration Law Practice by Call Number: KF4819 .W25 2017ISBN: 1573704091Publication Date: 2017
Inadmissibility & Deportability, 4th edition by Call Number: KF4842 .I53 2016ISBN: 9974089908801701Publication Date: 2016
Beyond Deportation: The Role of Prosecutorial Discretion in Immigration Cases by Call Number: KF4842 .W33 2015ISBN: 1479880469Publication Date: 2015Also available online via University Press Scholarship Online.
Rights, Deportation, and Detention in the Age of Immigration Control by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780804794572Publication Date: 2015
Whose Child Am I?: Unaccompanied, Undocumented Children in U.S. Immigration Custody by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780520961449Publication Date: 2015
The Borders of Punishment: Migration, Citizenship, and Social Exclusion by Call Number: K3275 .B67 2013ISBN: 0199669392Publication Date: 2013
Aftermath: Deportation Law and the New American Diaspora by Call Number: KF4842 .K358 2012ISBN: 9780199742721Publication Date: 2012-07-06
Reforming the Immigration System: Proposals to Promote Independence, Fairness, Efficiency, and Professionalism in the Adjudication of Removal Cases by Call Number: KF4842 .R44 2010ISBN: 9781604426151Publication Date: 2010
Deportation Nation: Outsiders in American History by Call Number: KF4842 .K36 2007ISBN: 9780674024724Publication Date: 2007-04-15
Immigration Law and Employment and Business
Treatises, Books, and General Resources About Immigration Law and Employment and Business
Subscription Resources:
- State Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook byPublication Date: 2018 to currentState immigration employment compliance handbook provides analysis of each state's laws and regulations dealing with the employment of persons unauthorized to work in the U.S. It includes analysis of the judicial decisions dealing with the validity and construction of those laws and regulations and discusses impact of state immigration regulation on employers' existing immigration compliance programs. It includes the full text of the relevant statutes and regulations, coverage of state laws and regulations specifically affecting employment by public contractors, and an introductory chapter summarizing relationship of state laws to federal immigration laws regulating the employment of non-citizens. It also discusses state immigration enforcement laws affecting an employer's multi-state operations.
- Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook (Westlaw)Austin T. Fragomen, Jr., Careen Shannon, and Daniel Montalvo
- Immigration Law & Business (Westlaw)Austin T. Fragomen, Jr., Careen Shannon, and Daniel Montalvo
- Corporate Immigration Law (Lexis Advance)Bettina Offer & Shalini Agarwal
- Workplace Immigration Report (Bloomberg Law)Coverage of workplace immigration news, federal and state legislation and regulation, and immigration enforcement in various industries. Coverage from 2007 to current.
Print Resources:
Part of the Family?: Nannies, Housekeepers, Caregivers and the Battle for Domestic Workers' Rights by Call Number: HD8039.D5 B37 2014 (Hamilton Library)ISBN: 9781935439851Publication Date: 2014-06-10Also available electronically via ProQuest at https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/uhm/detail.action?docID=3029231#
