International Environmental Law: Treaty Research

Indexes – Most useful to find a citation by subject matter or chronological date. These entries give you quick facts about each treaty such as signatories and date entered into force.

Treaties in Force (Bilateral)  - Provides country listing of treaties bewteen the United States and another country.

Treaties in Force (Multilateral) - Provides subject orientation to those treaties for which the United States is a party.

Flare Index to Treaties (1856 to present)

Multilateral treaties: index and current status & 11th Supp. (1856 - 1994)

World Treaty Index (1900 – 2000)

Multilateral Treaty Calendar (1648-1995)  - Organized chronologically but has a subject index. The Table of Contents for this book can be found on Google Books (use control+f to search by subject).

For a more complete listing, see EISIL and WorldLII.

• International Relations and Cooperation, South Africa
• Canada Treaty Information
• China – Treaties from the Foreign Minister
• Council of Europe Treaty Office (Lists all treaties)
• European Conventions and Agreements 1949-1994 - Documents are arranged chronologically v. 1. 1949-1961.--v. 2. 1962-1970.--v. 3. 1972-1974.--v. 4. 1990-1994.
• Treaties & Conventions of the Hawaiian Kingdom
• Indian Affairs Law and Treaties - Compilation of Native American instruments
• Hong Kong Treaty Index - Indexes treaties applying to the Hong Kong SAR
• Organization of American States, Treaties and Agreements - Treaties concluded by the members of the OAS.
• Singapore Free Trade Agreements
• United Kingdom Treaties Online - Coverage from 1824 to present, includes Command Papers.

Full Text Resources - The first two websites are specifically devoted to Environmental Law (but remember to cite to the appropriate resource required by the Bluebook.  See the Bluebooking Treaties tab in this guide.

1. Ecolex: The Gateway to Environmental Law
2. Electronic Information System for International Law: Environmental Law
3. United Nations Treaty Collection
4. The Multilaterals Project at the Fletcher School, Tufts University (Archival Information Only - ends in 2009)
5. World Legal Information Institute (WLII), International Treaties Library
6. United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTS)
7. League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) (July 1920 – Oct. 1944)
8. Monthly Statements of Treaties and International Agreements (MS)
9. International Legal Materials - A keyword search using the name of the treaty is effective.  Highly selective.