Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Law Library's Business Law research guide. General business information, both non-law- and law-related, can be found under the "Home" tab. Be sure to check out the various Business Databases offered by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library (link provided below). In this research guide, please navigate across the tabs above for more in-depth resources for particular areas of business law.
Business Dictionaries, Handbooks, & Encyclopedias
Subtopic from the University of Hawaii at Manoa's Finance research guide. Increase your business literacy and understanding of key business terms with these helpful resources.
Business Video Database
Business Video Database features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, “how to” features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.
Legal Information Reference Center
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Small Business Association
The SBA is the only cabinet-level federal agency fully dedicated to small business and provides counseling, capital, and contracting expertise as the nation’s only go-to resource and voice for small businesses.
Small Business Reference Center
Comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies.
Business in Hawaii
University of Hawaii at Manoa's "Business in Hawaii" research guide. Includes resources about companies, statistics, economic indicators, real estate, and commerce.
Chamber of Commerce Hawaii
The Chamber of Commerce Hawaii advocates for business in Hawaii through education, networking, and training events and helps the business community to thrive locally, nationally and globally.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
Citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas.
Honolulu Star-Advertiser Database
Search the full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 6, 2010 - present), the Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010) and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar. 18, 1996-June 6, 2010).
State of Hawaii Data Book
The official summary of statistics on the social, economic, and political organization of the State of Hawaii.
BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code
University of Hawaii at Manoa's "Company Information" research guide. Contains resources on company backgrounds, industry reports, and information for competitive intelligence.
Competitive Intelligence - LLRX Resource Guide
Includes internet search, discovery, monitoring, analyzing and reviewing current and historical data, news, reports, statistics and profiles on companies, markets, countries, people and issues, from a national and a global perspective.
Includes 52 million U.S. businesses. Search on 27 unique data points, including geography, business type, number of employees, ownership, etc. Additional modules include the U.S. New Businesses (updated weekly) and the U.S. Consumers / Lifestyles (database of over 290 million consumers).
Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis. Indexing for Hawaii Business magazine back to 1994.
International Business (general)
University of Hawaii at Manoa's International Business research guide.
Combines ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Business Law Center (via Westlaw)
Includes SEC Filings, mergers and acquisitions transactions, and international filings and disclosures.
Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research. Includes Hoover's Company Profiles; OxResearch; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports; and Snapshots providing market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Business Premium Collection
ProQuest’s most comprehensive business database combines ABI/INFORM Collection; Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection; Asian & European Business Collection; Business Market Research Collection; Business Video Database; Entrepreneurship Database; and J.P. Morgan Research. Includes full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, trade publications, industry reports, streaming videos and key periodicals such as The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Business Source Complete
Over 3,800 full-text journals, including nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, case studies, country economic reports, conference proceedings, working papers collections, and over 1 million company profiles.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Search 52 billion data points in over 6.2 billion datasets sourced from over 70 public and private data providers. Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and multiple sources, chart trends over time, and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Includes the EASI Analytics Market Planner module, as well as data from Zillow, Factset Corporate Fundamentals, US Stock Market Prices, and selected international market indices and exchanges.
Hospitality & Tourism Index
Bibliographic database with nearly 650 publications covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
The ICC represents business interests at the highest levels of intergovernmental decision-making, whether at the World Trade Organization, the United Nations or the G20 – ensuring the voice of business is heard. The site includes a library of e-learning courses and certifications.
Comprehensive global company database with custom reporting features. 15,000 U.S. public companies. 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations, representing 95% of the non-U.S. global market capitalization. Basic information on approximately 1 million global private companies, including up to four years of full financial information on over 400,000 firms. 20+ years of U.S. and International HSD Equity Pricing.
Web-scale discovery tool that includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals, conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
World Development Indicators
1960-present. Provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series data for more than 200 countries and 18 country groupings. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations that helps producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. The site offers access to official documents and other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos.