Overview
Commercial law is a general term used to describe the body of law that applies to the rights, relations, and conduct of persons and business engaged in commerce, merchandising, trade, and sales. This practice area deals primarily with commercial transactions under the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC), a joint project of the Uniform Law Commission and the American Law Institute. The key articles of the UCC are:
- UCC Article 1 - General Provisions
- UCC Article 2 - Sales
- UCC Article 2A - Leases
- UCC Article 3 - Negotiable Instruments
- UCC Article 4 - Bank Deposits and Collections
- UCC Article 4A - Funds Transfers
- UCC Article 5 - Letters of Credit
- UCC Article 6 - Bulk Sales
- UCC Article 7 - Document Title
- UCC Article 8 - Investment Securities
- UCC Article 9 - Secured Transactions
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)
- Uniform Law Commission (ULC)The ULC includes Articles 1 through 9 of the U.C.C., an archive of tentative drafts and proposed comments, and an interactive map highlighting the adoption of each article or revision by a specific state legislature.
- Legal Information Institute (LII)The LII posts the U.C.C. in the version which is most widely adopted by states; thus, the LII does not display the most current revision if that revision has not achieved widespread adoption among American legislatures. The LII does not offer the official comments. It does offer the U.C.C. as enacted by a particular state and proposed revisions to articles.
- U.C.C. Official Text (via Westlaw)The U.C.C. text on Westlaw includes the official comments and an appendices of amendments.
- U.C.C. Official Text (via Lexis)The U.C.C. text on Lexis includes the official comments and an appendices of amendments.
- Uniform Commercial Code Cases (via Westlaw)Uniform Commercial Code Cases has federal and state cases dealing with commercial matters, many of which are reported in West's National Reporter System or the Uniform Commercial Code Reporting Service.
Treatises
The ABC's of the UCC: Article 3, Negotiable Instruments: Article 4, Bank Deposits and Collections and Other Modern Payment Methods by Call Number: KF957 .V45ISBN: 1590314727Publication Date: 2015
The ABCs of the UCC: Article 4A, Funds Transfers by Call Number: KF890 .A22ISBN: 1627226222Publication Date: 2006
The ABCs of the UCC: Related and Supplementary Consumer Law by Call Number: KF1609 .M55ISBN: 1570734917Publication Date: 2004
The ABCs of the UCC: Article 5, Letters of Credit by Call Number: KF890 .A22ISBN: 1570733783Publication Date: 1998
The ABCs of the UCC: Article 8, Investment Securities by Call Number: KF890 .A22Publication Date: 1997
Electronic Resource Kits & Primers
- Commercial Transactions (Practical Guidance via Lexis+)Search commercial transactions by topic; browse state-specific resources and comparison tools; build custom smart forms; or consult resource kits, Law360 News, or training videos covering a range of topics, transactions, and filings.
- Searching Commercial Law (via Lexis+)Search various commercial law content (within primary and secondary authorities), consult Law360 News, and browse key topics within Articles 1 through 9.
- Commercial Law (via Westlaw)Search commercial law content (within various primary and secondary authorities), consult Reuters U.S. Business News, or use the Drafting Assistant to create customized transaction forms.
- Commercial Transactions (via Practical Law)Search commercial transactions by topic; browse state-specific resources and comparison tools; access a bank of standard contract provisions or glossary terms; or consult summaries, analysis, or custom reports covering a range of transactions and filings.
- Damages Under the Uniform Commercial Code (via Westlaw)Damages Under the Uniform Commercial Code is a thorough guide to understanding the types of damages that are available to buyers and sellers when they transact business pursuant to the UCC and there has been a breach of contract.
- Hawkland's Uniform Commercial Code Series (via Westlaw)This series provides the official code text of the U.C.C., official comments, variations enacted by the states. It includes section-by-section analysis and commentary, other related legislation, and case references.
- Startups & Small Businesses (via Practical Law)Search summaries, analysis, and custom reports covering a range of commercial transactions related to small business.
- White and Summers' Uniform Commercial Code (via Westlaw)White & Summers' Uniform Commercial Code provides accurate and precise analysis of the Code and proposes resolutions of common issues of interpretation.
Study Aids
Uniform Commercial Code in a Nutshell by Call Number: Study Aid NUTS KF889.85 .S76 2012ISBN: 0314277447Publication Date: 2012
Law Journals & Newsletters
- Brooklyn Journal of Corporate, Financial & Commercial Law (via HeinOnline)The Brooklyn Journal of Corporate, Financial and Commercial Law is a student-run business law journal, specializing in corporate, financial and commercial law subjects, including securities and bankruptcy law.
- Commercial Law World (via HeinOnline)Commercial Law World, formerly known as Debt3, is a bimonthly publication published by the Commercial Law League of America (CLLA) featuring the latest news from the bankruptcy, collections, credit and debt industry.
- DePaul Business & Commercial Law Journal (via HeinOnline)Published quarterly under the direction of a student board of editors, the journal includes notes and comments on current issues in business and commercial law.
- Journal of Private and Commercial Law (via HeinOnline)Journal of Private and Commercial Law (JPCL) is a scientific journal for the fields of Private and Commercial Law and allied sciences with Private and Commercial Law.
- UCC Bulletin (via Westlaw)Published monthly, the Bulletin contains expert commentary and analysis on major Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) issues and case summaries of recent significant UCC decisions, with cross-references to the complete case text.
Form Books & Practice Aids
- Modern U.C.C. Litigation Forms (via Lexis)The purpose of this work is to present practical, modern litigation forms specifically designed for use under the Uniform Commercial Code.
- UCC Pleading & Practice Forms (via Westlaw)UCC Pleading and Practice Forms has a complete collection of Uniform Commercial Code forms, covering Articles 1 through 9 and detailed expert analysis and discussion.
- Uniform Commercial Code Official National Forms (via Westlaw)Includes the official national forms and instructions that are associated with initiating or amending a security interest in personal property.
- Uniform Commercial Code Transaction Guide (via Westlaw)Includes model forms, alternative clauses, research aids, drafting checklists, and tables of state statutes.