Skip to Main Content

Business Law: Treatises and Practice Aids

This research guide will point you to several general resources for conducting business law research with focuses on commercial law, bankruptcy law, and secured transactions. There are also dedicated sub-guides for Asian business and financial news.

Treatises & Manuals (Hawai╩╗i specific materials are listed first)

This Hawai'i corporate law resource was recently published in 2011 and kept up-to-date with supplements. Reserve KFH213 .A65 C66 2011

This Hawai'i limited liability resource was published in 2011 and is kept up to date with supplements. Reserve KFH207.5 .L56 2011

This publication parallel the format of the Delaware General Corporation Law and analyzes the statute section by section. It also presents expert analysis of case law interpreting the statute. (Lexis > Area of Law - By Topic > Corporate > Search Analysis, Law Reviews & Journals > Delaware Corporation Law & Practice) (Lexis password needed)

Anaylsis of the Delaware code organized section-by-section together with judicial opinions. Includes suggestions for strategy and options for business decisions under the statute. Main collection KFD213 .F59 2006

This is a one-stop resource that provides access to primary law and analysis. Choose practice area: Corporations to access essays and forms.

This massive standard treatise covers all phases of corporate law, from formation to dissolution and the many issues within. (Westlaw: FLTR-CYC)

BTS offers guidance for structuring and drafting documents relating to a complete range of business activities covering the life cycle of a business. (Westlaw > BTS)

This publication focuses on squeeze outs techniques, drafting recommendations to avoid squeeze outs, and available remedies to the oppressed parties. (Westlaw > OPPMINSH)

Provides overview of the different types and reasons to create an LLC, problematic procedures, and reviews state laws and the Uniform Limited Liability Company Act. (Westlaw: RKLLC) (Must have a Westlaw UN/PW to access.)

Advising the Small Business provides guidance on legal issues of interest to small business clients with a particular emphasis on the impact of federal laws on these business entities. It is a 3 volume looseleaf supplemented by a 3 volume forms library. (Also available on Westlaw > ADVSB)

This is a resource for overcoming roadblocks that typically confront a start-up company. (Westlaw > repstartup)

This publication provides guidance for planning, drafting, designing, and preventive law for close corporations and limited liability companies. (Westlaw > CCORPLLC)

This ABA publication covers a broad spectrum of client issues including lawyer engagement, disengagement, conflicts of interest, and fee structures. It also focuses on selection of business entity, formation and typical business transactions. The main volume is supplemented by a separate volume of sample letters.

 

 

Forms and Checklists

This 2007 publication is still relevant but you must check to see if the law has been updated. Reserve KFH207 .h38

Typically, formation of business entities requires filing with the Department of Commerce, Secretary of State or similar agency. These offices will often provide forms that are relevant for the formation and operation of businesses.

This ABA publication covers a broad spectrum of client issues including lawyer engagement, disengagement, conflicts of interest, and fee structures. It also focuses on selection of business entity, formation and typical business transactions. The main volume is supplemented by a separate volume of sample letters.

Advising the Small Business provides guidance on legal issues of interest to small business clients with a particular emphasis on the impact of federal laws on these business entities. It is a 3 volume looseleaf supplemented by a 3 volume forms library. (Also available on Westlaw > ADVSB)

Contains both structural forms (organization, transfer of ownership, termination of a small business entity) and operating forms (day-to-day operations) forms relating to the principal types of small business entities. (Westlaw > FRMSMBUS)

This publication produces sample agreements and contract clauses for general operations as well as specific functions and for specific types of business. Long considered a gold standard within the legal community. Also available on Lexis.

Chapter 1, 2, 15A, 16A, 17, 18 and 18A address the formation and operation of business associations; however, the treatise has other types of forms important to the business of a company (sales of goods, franchising, equipment leasing, etc.) (Lexis > Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Corporate > Search Analysis, Law Reviews & Journals > By Subtopic > Corporate Forms) (Access with Lexis UN/PW)

Includes a collection of forms and clauses needed to document corporate activities from pre-incorporation to dissolution. Each form is preceded by explanations of when, how, and why it should be used, and is accompanied by expert commentary. (Westlaw > CORPFORMS)

This large set of corporate forms provides long and short form documents, and will sometimes provide commentary or advise for the practitioner. (Westlaw > FLTR-FRM)

 

 

Practice Law Company

PLC provides an enormous amount of expert commentary and forms for a wide variety of legal specialties. The information on the general organization and operations of business entities can be found under > Corporate and Securities > Business Entities.