What is Elder Law
Elder and Special Needs Law are specialized areas of law that involve representing, counseling, and assisting seniors, people with disabilities, and their families in connection with a variety of legal issues, from estate planning to long term care issues, with a primary emphasis on promoting the highest quality of life for the individuals. Typically, Elder and Special Needs Law attorneys address the client’s perspective from a holistic viewpoint by addressing legal, medical, financial, social and family issues. National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NELA), What are Elder and Special Needs Attorneys.
Elder Law: Useful Treatises
Elder Law Forms Manual by
This two volume loose-leaf manual contains key forms and documents.
Enables users to customize estate and Medicaid plans as well as provide personalized services to elder clients.
Each form is accompanied by practical, insightful commentary, telling you when and how each should be used. Many documents include a range of alternative clauses for common and not-so-common situations. The 20 chapters are organized into these key parts:
* Managing the Elder Law Practice
* Estate and Long-Term Care Planning
* Powers of Attorney, Medical Directives and Wills
* Trusts
Call Number: KF 390 .A4 M37 1992ISBN: 0735536813Publication Date: 1999-07-21
Elder Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF390.A4 F752 2019ISBN: 9781640209060Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Everyday Law for Seniors by
An essential resource that provides easy-to-understand information for readers who want to make the best possible decisions about retirement options, health care, where to live, and planning for long-term care. Frolik and Whitton, national experts in elder law, explain the wide range of legal rights and benefits that every senior should consider, whether looking ahead or responding to a crisis.
Call Number: KF 390 .A4 F7535 2010ISBN: 1594517010Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Mastering Elder Law by
This title explores concerns that commonly arise when representing the elderly client. The book focuses on public benefits, retirement systems, age discrimination, wealth transfers, medical decision making (including “the right to die”), guardianships and conservatorships, durable powers of attorney, long-term care, housing, abuse, and ethical problems. The book also explores overarching themes such as the tension that results when the state simultaneously attempts to protect its vulnerable citizens and promote their autonomy. It also includes description of complex topics such as Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid.
Call Number: KF 390 .A4 B73 2010ISBN: 1594604487Publication Date: 2010- Representing the Elderly Client by
This treatise has two volumes. Focused on practitioners, this treatise covers key practice issues by providing an overview of the basic rules and guiding statutes/regulations, in-depth analysis with guiding case law, and step-by-step explanation of the advocacy process. This treatise addresses the six frequently raised elder law topics:
* Medicaid
* Special Needs Trusts
* Medicare and Managed Care
* Elder Abuse
* Nursing Home and LTC Facilities
* Intra-family and Postmortem Advocacy for Clients and Heirs.
Call Number: KF 390 .A4 B44 1999ISBN: 0735552395Publication Date: 2004-10-05
- Uniform Probate Code and Uniform Trust Code in a nutshell, 6th ed. by
Table of Contents: General introduction and history -- General provisions, definitions and probate jurisdiction of the court -- Intestate succession, wills and donative transfers -- Elective share of surviving spouse, the augmented estate, and election procedure -- Family omissions and protections -- Will and donative transfers -- Rules of construction applicable to wills only -- Rules of construction applicable to wills and to other governing instruments -- General miscellaneous provisions and topics -- Administration and administration avoidance procedures -- Appointment and testacy proceedings -- The personal representative -- Creditors' claims -- Distribution and closing provisions -- Guardianship and conservatorship -- Nonprobate transfers -- General provisions relating to trusts -- Creation and modification of trusts -- Trust administration.
Call Number: KF 765 .Z95 A94 2010ISBN: 00314926920Publication Date: 2010
Elder Law: Hawaii Resources
- The Elder Law Hawai'i Handbook by The Elder Law Hawai`i Handbook describes the essential information needed by individuals and their families or partners who face some of the most serious issues of the later years-declining health and the need for long-term care; appropriate legal and financial planning; and dealing with death, bereavement, and grief. In straightforward language, the authors begin by discussing basic legal, financial, and health-care preparations, including information about lawyers and how they can help in planning your future; drawing up a valid will; probate; executing a durable power of attorney; eligibility requirements for Medicare, Medicaid, and other state and federal medical assistance programs.Call Number: KFH 91 .A3 P54 1998Publication Date: 1998
Journals & Law Reviews
- Elder Law Journal by Available on HeinOnline and Westlaw. Access for LAW students, faculty, and staff with login and passwordCall Number: Digital version, see note for accessISBN: 1070-1478
- NAELA journal (Print) by Articles from the NAELA Journal, a law journal published quarterly by the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys that focuses on the issues that affect the elderly, including health care, trusts and estate planning, Social Security, age discrimination, and retirement. Full coverage for NAELA Quarterly begins with 1999 (vol. 12 WTR - vol. 17 FALL). Full Coverage for NEALEA Journal begins with 2005 (vol. 1 SPG).Call Number: KF390.A4 N33ISBN: 15531686Publication Date: v.1:no.1(2005:spring) -
- NAELA Journal (Digital) by Contains reference materials from the annual institutes and annual symposiums, plus articles from NAELA quarerly (ceased with fall 2004) and its successor title, NAELA journal. Full text available with subscription to Westlaw. Westlaw access for limited to Law students, faculty and staff with login and passwordCall Number: Online: Westlaw EdgePublication Date: 2005 -