Immigration Law Research

The premier index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents.

The Foreign Law Guide provides links to primary and secondary sources of law for over 190 countries.It provides links to English translations of legal materials from each country. The database also contains bibliographical information on many international conventions and treaties. Users can search by country name or by searching for specific areas of law.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, and government publications.

Law journal resource page with hundreds of links to law journals, law reviews, law reports, law school journals, law quarterlies, law advisors, and law news for both national and international law journals.

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), the most comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia, contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.).

This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.

The Bob Krauss Research Index is an index of English-language newspaper content from Hawaii, covering 1840 through 1944. It is not comprehensive but covers periods of time for which there is no formal indexing. Includes links to online copies of newspapers, where available.

Index to the Honolulu Advertiser, the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, and the Honolulu Star-Advertiser from 1989 to present. The Index is a service of the Hawaii State Public Library System (HSPLS). The Hawaii Newspaper Index can be searched by subject or by keyword(s).

Citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.

Online version of index, browsable and searchable. The Hawaiian Ethnological Notes Collection, commonly called HEN, is comprised of Hawaiian language material, most of which was translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. This material includes articles which appeared in Hawaiian Language newspapers published between the 1860’s to approximately 1940. Some articles were translated by Thomas G. Thrum.

Searchable access to indexes of the following records, from the Hawaiʻi State Archives: marriage records, 1826-1929; divorce records, 1848-1915; probate; wills, 1852-1916; naturalization records, 1844-1894; denization, 1846-1898; passports, 1845-1874.

Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Digitized version of the print indexes for the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin. Available as of 3/23/2012: 1929-1967 in 5 volumes; 1968-1969.

Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. It has references and in some cases abstracts of articles from over 3,660 journal titles, books, gray literature, internet material, conference proceedings, government and ngo documents and statistical publications.

Population Index, published between 1937 and 1999, was the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presented an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. The complete journal collection going back to the 1930s is available in JSTOR.

Access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.

Index with abstracts to the literature of sociology from 2,700 journals and other serials, books, dissertations, and conference papers published worldwide. Coverage is from 1963 and includes all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. Over 2,500 new records are added monthly.

This is a database of bibliographic information on serial and journals. It is a great resource if you are having trouble finding a journal article (and have already used our Journal Finder widget on the main law library web page). It has information about journals including their ISSN numbers, name changes, date ranges, electronic holdings, and where they are indexed. Speak with a law librarian at the reference desk for assistance using this resource.

United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Web is produced by the Dag Hammerskjold Library in New York and the UN Geneva Office as the index to UN publications and documents published since 1979, or earlier for selected major documents.

Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Coverage from 1980 to current.

Abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Brill's publishing program in the fields of International Law and Human Rights. This online collection includes: Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law/ Recueil des Cours; Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations; Colloques/Workshop Series; Foreign Law Guide; and The Law Books of the Academy.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Global Jurist offers a forum for scholarly cyber-debate on issues of comparative law, law and economics, international law, law and development, and legal anthropology. Edited by an international board of leading comparative law scholars from all the continents, Global Jurist is mindful of globalization and respectful of cultural differences.

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library contains more than 2,500 law and law-related periodicals. Subjects covered include criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from inception and goes through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. About 90% of journals are available through the current issue or volume. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.

Issues in Legal Scholarship presents cutting-edge criminological, legal and policy research. The journal seeks to address emerging issues of great significance, offering ongoing scholarship of interest to a wide range of readers. Online publication makes it possible for other researchers to find the best and latest quickly, as well as to join in further discussion. Online peer-reviewed symposia systematically address emerging issues of great significance and offer ongoing scholarship. Each symposium is a living forum with ongoing publications and commentaries. Issues in Legal Scholarship is edited by academics across the world ranging from the UK, Australia and faculty from the UC Berkeley Law School.

Law & Ethics of Human Rights (LEHR) aspires to analyze and clarify the concepts of moral and legal rights, and to contribute to conflict resolution in human rights law. Each issue of LEHR focuses on one contemporary dilemma that raises major moral and legal questions. Each such dilemma is examined using an interdisciplinary approach to human rights law, an approach which strives to create associations between legal provisions and the philosophical thinking underlying them.

Law360 covers litigation, policy developments, corporate deals, and more across dozens of practice areas, industries, and jurisdictions.

Free search engine searches the free full-text of over 400 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports. Several of the law reviews (such as the Stanford Technology Law Review), working papers, and reports are available online only.

Contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

JSTOR provides full-text articles in the following subject areas: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Explore over 740,000 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Taylor & Francis Online offers over 4 million full-text articles in over a dozen specialty areas.

Creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Starting in the 1930s and spanning up to the present, these in-copyright fictional and poetry works will be cross-searchable for the first time. With 120,000 pages at completion, and enriched with interviews, Australasian Literature is an incomparable resource for researchers in the fields of Literature, Creative Writing, Post-Colonial Studies, Immigration Studies, Social Studies, Anthropology and more.

Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Explores a "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue.