Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and journals about international courts and tribunals is best found by using using “international courts” as a subject search in the Voyager catalog. Specific aspects of international courts should be further defined by keyword using and advanced search, or specific subject headings assigned to the topic. Examples:
Jurisdiction (International law)
International and municipal law--United States.
International law--United States
International law and evidence
The Law and Practice of International Courts and Tribunals is a journal that respect to the preparation, adoption, suspension, amendment and revision of Rules of Procedure as well as statutory and internal rules. It is available to UH students via our HeinOnline subscription.
Project on International Courts and Tribunals is a network of researchers and practitioners sharing a common interest in the study of international courts and tribunals and the implications of their operation for the broader field of international law. They publish their research, information about ongoing projects, courses and bibliographies. Researchers might find their chart of international courts and tribunals interesting even if it is slightly dated: Chart of all International Courts and Tribunals as of 2004.
Key authors in this field are:
- Ceasare Romano
- Ruth MacKenzie
- Yuval Shany
The Law and Practice of International Courts and Tribunals is a journal that respect to the preparation, adoption, suspension, amendment and revision of Rules of Procedure as well as statutory and internal rules. (Available on HeinOnline.)
Recent treatises in this field include:
Case Law Sources
Resources here collect decisions from various courts and are organized by subject rather than jurisdiction, with some exceptions. For example, the premiere Oxford Reports on International Law can be searched by topic as well as by jurisdiction. Also check subtabs for this page for courts with substantial documentation.
American International Law Cases (Third Series)
Subject organization of cases in U.S. courts focusing on international topics. Coverage begins in 1990 through 2004.
Digest of International Law (Hackworth) (HeinOnline)
Digests international law events, including cases, from 1940 - 1944. Also available in print at http://uhlibs.lib.hawaii.edu:7008/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=835952
Digest of International Law (Whiteman) (Hein Online)
Digest of international law, including cases, from 1963 - 1973. Also available in print, see http://uhlaw.lib.hawaii.edu:7008/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=835729
A database of ECONOMIC, SOCIAL AND CULTURAL RIGHTS related jurisprudence, cases and other decisions.
ICSID Case Law
Cases concerning investment disputes.
International Crimes Database
Database on international crimes adjudicated by national, as well as international courts.
International Law Reports
Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1919. Contains decisions of the International Court of Justice, European Court of Justice, UN human rights treaty bodies, Administrative Tribunal of the International Labour Organisation and national courts. Cumulative index follows volume 125. Individual annual indexes appear in each volume after volume 125. Recommended search tip: Use the free search feature on the Cambridge Law Reports page to search and then retrieve cases in print from this set: http://ebooks.cambridge.org/clr
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
Includes Advisory Proceedings and Contentious Cases.
Law Reports of the Trials of War Crimes, United Nations War Crimes Commission
Fifteen volume series summarizes the course of the more important proceedings taken against individuals accused of war crimes during World War II, excluding the major war criminals tried by the Nuremberg and Tokyo International Military Tribunals. (1947-1949)
NORMALEX - Database on International Labour Standards Compendium of Court Cases
The select cases included in the database concern not only disputes arising from the world of work but also decisions on human rights outside the sphere of the world of work but still relevant to it.
Oxford Reports on International Law
Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1904.
Reports of International Arbitral Awards
Digital collection of the print case reporter, volumes 1 to 30.
StAR Corruption Cases Search Center
The corruption cases databases are a product of the staff of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development / The World Bank.
UN Office on Drugs and Crime Human Trafficking Case Database
Includes cases in which all three constituent elements of the internationally agreed definition of trafficking in persons (Article 3, the United Nations Trafficking in Persons Protocol) are present.
World Court Digest
Summaries of the conclusions of the International Court of Justice, arranged by topic.