Public International Law: When the U.S. is a Party

Use an index to find a citation to a treaty and confirm quick facts regarding dates, signatories and status (ratification).

Treaties In Force - DOS publication for bilateral and multilateral treaties.  Lists signatories, entry into force dates and reservations.

A Guide to US Treaties in Force - This is an expanded version of the DOS Treaties in Force.  Includes brief annotations for treaties, parallel citations, country list of what countries the US has a current treaty.

Multilateral Treaties for which the United States is a Depositary - This DOS web site lists the 200+ multilateral treaties deposited with the US government.

United States Treaty Index – Covers all U.S. treaties (ratified or not) from 1776 to 1995. The first five volumes contain the "master guide," organized by treaty number.  Provides parallel citations, signature information, status.  Other indexes refer you back to the master guide.  See also Current Treaty Index.

Current Treaty Index -  Updated twice a year, serves as a good updating service for the USTI.

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (in microfiche at UH but also available on HeinOnline) - The KAV series is tied to other publications by the same author (Igor Kavass) including a Guide to US Treaties in Force and Current Treaty Index.

Subject index to the Executive Agreement Series (1930-1945).

Official Sources (required for citation under BB R. 21) - Use these sources to search by topic or when you have a citation.  If you have a date range, pay attention to publication periods.  For convenience, check the sub-tab on citation for treaties.  Many of these resource can be found in the Hein Online Treaties and International Agreements Library.  You will benefit from watching their webinar on Treaty Research and their Treaty and International Agreements Library.

• Pending Treaties can be found at the Department of State web site
• Treaties and Other International Acts Series (T.I.A.S.), also available in Hein Online - but use the Department of State web site for current materials - This service acts as an advanced legislative service for the UST series (below). (1945 - present)
• United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.) (also available on HeinOnline) - Bluebook rule 20.4.5 requires a citation to this source if it is published in this title; however, the last volume was publisihed in 1985. (1950 - 1985)
• Senate Executive Reports/Senate Treaty Documents –  (S. Exec. Doc. or its predecessor S. Tret. Doc. No.) – Beginning with the 104^th Congress, Senate Executive Reports are also available on the GPO Federal Digital System.  For earlier reports, consult the CIS Index to US Senate executive documents & reports : covering documents and reports not printed in the US Serial Set, 1818-1969. Since 1979 (96th Congress) Senate Executive Reports/Treaty Documents have been included in the U.S. Serial Set.  (1778 - 1980 under Senate Treaty Docs.; 1981 to present under Senate Executive Reportss).
• Prior to 1818, you can refer to the American State Papers series (also available at the Library of Congress American Memory project).
• United States Statutes at Large (Stat.) – (also available at HeinOnline, and at the Library of Congress American memory project) – Volumes 7 and 8 contain all treaties concluded between 1776 and 1845; after 1845, treaties were published chronologically in the year they were ratified until 1950.  Post 1950, consult UST (see above).
• Treaty Series (T.S.) – (also available at HeinOnline) – Includes U.S. treaties that were concluded between 1908 and 1945.  See TIAS above for treaties concluded after 1945.
• Executive Agreement Series – (E.A.S.) (available at HeinOnline) - Includes U.S. treaties that were concluded between 1930 and 1945.  See TIAS for treaties after 1945.  (See above).

Unofficial sources 

• International Legal Materials – Bi-monthly publication of the American Association of International Law. The November issue contains the annual index and will lead you to the treaties contained within ILM; however, a keyword search using the name of the treaty is also effective.  Highly selective.
• Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United states of America, 1776-1949 – This set reproduces the treaties concluded prior to the publication of the UST (see above).  The General Index for this set is in the last volume, Volume 13.  Multilaterial treaties and agreements are arranged chronologically in the first four volumes (Vol. 1 - 1776 to 1917; Vol. 2 - 1918 to 1930; Vol. 3 - 1931 to 1945; Vol. 4 - 1946 to 1949). Volumes five through twelve organize the documents alphabetically by participating nations.
• Treaties and other international acts of the United States of America, 1776-1863 (also available on HeinOnline)  -  Volume 1 contains finding aids and tables for the rest of the set, which is organized by document number and chronologically as follows: 1776 to 1818 (Vol. 2); 1819 to 1835 (Vol. 3); 1836 to 1846 (Vol. 4); 1846 to 1852 (Vol. 5); 1852 to 1855 (Vol. 6); 1855 to 1858 (Vol. 7); 1858 to 1863 (Vol. 8).
• Unperfected Treaties of the United States of America, 1776-1976  - Collection of  international agreements concluded by the United States from 1776 to 1976, which failed to enter into force for the United States. The index for this set is in the last volume, volume 9.  The documents are organized chronologically as follows: 1776 to 1855 (Vol. 1); 1856 to 1882 (Vol. 2); 1883 to 1904 (Vol. 3); 1905 to 1918 (Vol. 4); 1919 (Vol. 5); 1919 to 1925 (Vol. 6); 1926 to 1945 (Vol. 7); 1946 to 1964 (Vol. 8); 1965 to 1976 (Vol. 9).