Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal Archives in Other Repositories
Association of Hawaiʻi Archivists, 5th Edition of the Directory of Historical Records Repositories in Hawaiʻi
This directory lists all of the archival repositories across the State of Hawaiʻi, including those that house historical, political, institutional, and cultural heritage materials.
Democratic Party Records
Two collections, a large collection of the statewide organization and one from the Oahu County organization, document the party from the late 1950s to the present.
Hawaii Congressional Papers Collection (HCPC)
The HCPC is made up of collections documenting the lives and work of Hawaii’s members of Congress, sometimes including material from before or after Congressional service. The papers include correspondence, reports, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual items, publications, and memorabilia. The papers already held by the HCPC include those of U.S. Senator Hiram L. Fong (660 cubic ft.), U.S. Representative Thomas P. Gill (86 cubic ft.), U.S. Senator Spark M. Matsunaga (900 linear ft.), U.S. Representative Ed Case (215 cubic ft.), and U.S. Representative Patricia F. Saiki (18.5 cubic ft.). Small collections of memorabilia from Territorial Delegate John A. Burns, U.S. Senator Oren E. Long, and U.S. Representative Patsy Mink are also housed in the collection. Please call 808/944-7656 for details or to make an appointment.
Hawaiʻi State Archives
The Hawai‘i State Archives is a division within the Department of Accounting and General Services. Its mission is to ensure open government by preserving and making accessible the historic records of state government and to partner with state agencies to manage their active and inactive records.
King Kamehameha V Judiciary Center
This is an educational and museum center that holds art, artifacts and library collections on the history of Hawaiʻiʻs courts. They have collections on Hawaiian Kingdom courts, past Hawaiʻi justices like William S. Richardson and Wilfred Tsukiyama, former Attorney General Joseph Garner Anthony, other figures in the legal profession in the 19th-20th century, Hawaii Supreme Court annual reports in ʻōlelo Hawaii and English, district and circuit court docket books, prison logs and ledgers, and probate records.